Posted in yoga

Tips for dying # 15: the same ol

So you’re going to start repeating yourself. A lot. The lack of oxygen in your brain will facilitate this.

Here’s my question…how come you don’t notice how differently people react with each time you re-tell a story?

The first time they engage you and hang on your words , but by the fourth or fifth time you tell the same story they have a stony look on their face or a patronizing smile…are you so withdrawn that you cannot see them?

No one wants to be impolite and stop you, everyone gives you the benefit of the doubt, maybe this time you’ll finish the story differently…maybe you’ll have a different conclusion, or maybe you have something to add…but no.

What will I want? These days, when I feel my kids don’t “hear” my point of view I get so frustrated…they are quick to assume I’ll take a certain opposing position, but often I feel I’m agreeing with them.

When I’m daft with oxygen deprecation will I feel angry and want to be heard even though I’m telling the same story over and over? How can I prevent this? What lessons can I learn now to stop my habitual needs?

Can I become a listener not a lecturer? Fat chance I fancy myself a teacher …still…how does one become more monk- like and lovable? Less mom-like and loathe-able?

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature