Posted in yoga

Tips for Dying: #12: Toss It!

Hanging out at dad’s place reminded me how important it is to keep bathroom shelves bare. Oh, sure you can have a huge cartoon of tp in the basement in case the apocalypse happens and you need to trade it for salt.

There’s no sense in keeping 4 tubes of old sunscreen around because if you get Sick or Injured your loved ones will be wading thru your stuff looking for your nail clippers.

This weekend, inspired by the multiple shampoo bottles dad kept, I tossed a lot of old product that I knew I wouldn’t use even in an emergency and couldn’t donate. It felt good, despite my regrets that I ever bought so much in the first place, and everything looks much nicer.

My grandma gave everything away as she aged, lightening the load of stuff right down to nothing but some towels, a couple trinkets, and some tins. I think that’s an excellent approach towards a graceful dissolution:

Lesson: buy less, replace only if empty. I don’t have small children and the aliens haven’t landed yet, so I can always get more if I need it.

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature