Posted in young then older

Trish Emerson

I need to put together a packet for Trish Emerson.

 

Here’s the letter I wrote:

Dear Ms. Emerson:

We met out by the dumpsters tonight.  My name is Maria Young and I own the unit that houses Alameda Martial Arts.

It was so nice to finally meet you.

As discussed, we would love to offer daytime team building classes for your team members.  I am a big fan of Erik Lee, the owner.  He is a fun and engaging instructor and he fueled my love for martial arts through his wry sense of humor.

While raising my three kids, I obtained my black belt through Erik Lee and even won a “Grand Champion” award at the WKSA Tri-State Tournament.  As mentioned, I am also a 700 hour certified yoga instructor.

Together we teamed up to open and run this business and it has been great fun for us.  Erik runs most of the classes in the evenings, I help out part-time.

I was reviewing your website and I must admit, as a woman who has been on the periphery of the business world (because of my children) I am so intrigued and excited by your work and your business.

Just this afternoon I was ruminating on meeting a female guru, someone who could teach me/train me to utilize the skills I have honed.  In the yoga business they say that when you are ready, the teacher appears…and then there you were at the dumpsters.

I saw that you offer recent college graduates the opportunity to work full time for two years at your Alameda office and I began to salivate.  Of course, it’s been years since I graduated, so I understand that investing two years into me would be a big leap.  But, if I didn’t ask, I wouldn’t know the answer.

So, in addition to re-introducing myself in the hopes of connecting your team with Erik or me, I am also sending along my resume for consideration.  I have a Master’s degree in Comparative Literature and as you will see, I’m very comfortable writing and interacting with people.  I’m not sure if I would be suited for your Emerson University, but I would love to work for you full time in Alameda in any capacity you imagine I might fulfill.  Your website is fascinating and I’d love to know more.

Thanks for your time, and be sure to check out our website:  www.alamedamartialarts.com

Maria Young
510-520-0920

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature