Posted in young then older

The Annual Hawthorn Berry Feast

From 1/16/10:

I saw a robin outside on the wire.  First robin of the Spring?  Or last robin of the Fall? 

 

I’m voting “First” since I haven’t seen one in such a long time.  Still…he looked cold.

 

Even as I typed that, I thought to myself, he’s probably here to eat the berries on my tree out back…sure enough I looked up to see one perched just outside my window.

 

How lovely…the second robin of Spring!

 

I am so grateful I get to train inside.  I understand the Paleo movement, and know first hand how difficult it is to say, run on the sand barefoot down Crown Beach.  But the cold.  The deep cold.  I’m wired for warmth.  My stretch, my happy hips, they like it warm.  My mind is expansive, I’m more relaxed.  Things smell better, I get to wear less clothing.  I know I need to live now.  In the moment:  but isn’t it natural to relish the days of summer,in the midst of January? 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature