Posted in young then older

Our Decision Not to Franchise with KSW

From 11/15/09:

I hope you and the family are doing well! I’m sorry I’ve been so out of touch lately but I’m really glad that you have been keeping us updated on what’s been going on with the school!

 

I just got done reading the message that you and Sir wrote about the WKSA changes and I was hoping to send him a little note of encouragement, seeing as how I’ve been away for so long (thanks for the shout out, too!)

 

Anyways, I everything is going well. Please say hi to Wolfy for me!

 

Kenny “Unagi” Eng

 

*******

 

Hi Sir,

 

I hope you and your family are doing well! I’m sorry for being out of touch. I never meant to drift away from you and the school as I’ve always thought of the school as a second home. In fact, there is hardly a day when I don’t use something that I’ve learned from you. Whenever I make my way back to the Bay Area, I try to visit the new school but somehow my schedule never works out… Hopefully, I can stop by over the holidays. I have to admit that I’m a little bit rusty but I occasionally catch myself reviewing the techniques and forms when I’m bored at work.

 

Thanks for the update regarding the WKSA situation. I’m sure it was a tough decision to make after all the time and energy you have committed to them after 20 years but I’m sure that it was for the best. I just wanted to write to say “hi” and to offer my encouragement:

 

I think I speak for many of the students that have trained with you when I say that your affiliation with the WKSA has no bearing on  whether we continue to be your students. I find it disconcerting that the WKSA is moving toward a more esoteric style (I thought by the 5th degree black belt level, we would be learning some form of the “death touch” or shooting fireballs out of our palms or something). My loyalties have always been with you as my teacher and mentor and I think all of your students would agree with me. Your continued success is a direct reflection of your dedication to developing better, healthier and more engaged people as is your desire to constantly improve yourself and impart what you have learned to your students. I count myself among thousands of people who have benefited from your teachings and philosophies and I feel honored that I was able to learn from you.

 

I, like many other students, know that you have our best interests at heart and would readily support you in any decision you make regarding the school or the curriculum you teach. While there may be benefits from being apart of an association like the WKSA, I feel the community you have built in Alameda is much stronger, more supportive and ultimately, healthier. The respect you have cultivated and earned from your students is indelible, unlike our affiliation with the WKSA. The material is not what your students keep coming to you for, but rather the lessons and the remodeling that happens everyday in your school.

 

Sorry for this kind of rambling email. I hope it is coherent… What it all comes down to for me is that I will never stop calling you my teacher and mentor, no matter who you are affiliated with. I can’t thank you enough for all of the lessons you have taught me and I hope to see you soon!

 

With much respect,

Kenny Eng

 

***

 

We know whatever venture in Kuk Sool that YOU, Eric, choose, will be most respected by us, old timers in KukSool, and those who are fortunate and new to be continuing with you.

 

We wish you the best of luck and we know your class will continue to fluorish with your eagerness to teach and the animated styles you use with the young and the older students too!  Remember, I enjoyed the lectures you throw in there during your class…you add reality in life and add the fun in class at the same time!

 

Sincerely,

 

Estrellita & the Reyes clan!!!!

 

Mike in UC Riverside says Hi!!!  Can’t believe that one of your first youngest students is now in college…

 

 

***

Dear Sir,

 

You are the MAN!

Good for you, your school and your students!

We are attached to you and Maria and your school and will continue to train with you Won or not!

You are a great writer!

No questions here. We are excited for you and your students in this new endeavor!

Thank you so much for all you give to your students and all you have given and shared and taught Ellis!

 

Rock on!

 

Jessi Brandt

Yes I Consult

(510) 219.9066

www.yesiconsult.com

 

***

 

Great letter Erik (and Maria)! Thanks for the detailed explanation and genuine interest in what’s good for the kids. You could almost replace the martial arts language with academics–the more stringent and limiting the public school curriculum becomes, the less creativity teachers are able to use in their teaching. And we wonder why scores go down instead of up. I digress, but I applaud your decision and appreciate your creativity.And I’m glad we bought a house across the street from you Maria; otherwise we likely wouldn’t have discovered your great program, which is such a good fit for Andi.

Thanks!

Amy

***

Sir:

You are an awesome instructor that so many kids admire and respect…parents too! I’m sure it was not an easy decision to make, but we trust in you and support whatever name you decide to take on…..good luck the transition.

See you soon, 

Paula and thomas

 

***

What a beautifully written letter.  My compliments to both of you. May this bring you even more success!

With greatest respect,

 

Libby JKN

 

***

 

Finally! Kalin and I will see you on Tuesday!

 

Rich JKN

 

 
Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature