Posted in young then older

Kip Ups and the Loss of Ability

Back when I was in the yoga program I got injured during a roundhouse kicking/blocking drill.  It was my fault, I was a little too relaxed, I got kicked, and my meniscus tore to the extent that it would get “stuck” so I had to wiggle my knee to “unstick” it and straighten my leg.  I had to have the torn segment removed (it looked like crab meat) and go through physical therapy/pilates. (Thanks Dr. Ross and Dr. Suzanne Martin!)  It was at least a year before I began to feel semi-normal again.  During that time I remember really mourning the loss of ability.

 

I mentioned it to my instructor, Rodney Yee, who said, ‘Yep, it’s sad, but the loss of ability is one of the hardest things we have to face.  I have to face it, we all do.’  I replied, ‘But I just want to do a kip up again.’  He said I had to get used to the fact that I’m not going to be doing kip ups….at least not without re-injuring myself.

 

He’s probably right…in a way I know my training is sometimes imperfect and probably wearing down my already thin cartiledge.  But, I know that I can build strength in the muscles, tendons, and ligaments surrounding the joint, and my kip ups feel better than ever.

 

So, I decided to film it, just in case the day comes when I really can’t do them anymore:)

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature