Posted in young then older

Happy Birthday to Me:

With the extreme outward rotation of the legs
I was trying to salvage the day, didn't really plan appropriately....

From 11/20/09:

(Note from Future Self: in 2010 figured out the best gift to self, wake up in a new unexplored city with a loved one.  In 2010 I went to Carlsbad, Ca with Erik.  In 2011 I went to Santa Fe, NM with Christine.)

Happy Birthday to Me!  I’m more fit and more confident than I’ve been in my entire life.  If I had time, I’d film myself doing my high kicks or low stances, but time seems to be the one thing I cannot buy.

I recently heard an NPR segment about cancer.  The fellow recounted his battles and tried to explain “the gift” of cancer…that it slows you down and forces you to look at (and hopefully find time for) the things you really enjoy.  Things like having time to leisurely read the paper over a cup of fresh coffee.  Having time to water the plants carefully and feel the sun on your face.

One of the most pleasant things I’d do would be to go to the studio, watch some “submission” DVDs, clean up, take a nap upstairs in the sunshine, then teach classes.  But there are groceries to buy, appointments to keep.  Another wonderful thing I’d chose is to have an entire afternoon home with my kids, where there’s nothing to do but cook or bake.

Seems simple, right?  Just scheduling right?

Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature