Posted in young then older

Autumnal Thoughts:

From 9/15/08:

Today was a fantastic, beautiful warm Autumn Day.  I walked outside this morning to get the paper bundled in my robe and braced for the cold when I was greeted by a warm, moist breeze that rattled golden leaves in the street.  All of a sudden I was no longer in a rush to go back to the house but felt happy to stand and listen.  I stood in Tadasana (in my giant pink fluffy robe–how silly).  I would have done a full sun salute, but I know I already look strange in my driveway standing stock still listening to my friend the black crested bird that I swear talks to me.  I saw a plane fly overhead and it was so clearly detailed it was like I had never really seen a plane fly through the sky before.

 

On my way to teach class, I was listening to Daniel Schorr, senior news analyst at NPR, sing a rendition of the song: “Brother, Can you Spare a Dime.” In the spirit of the day, I was blown away by how much I love and respect this man, and what a great gift this radio series about musical interpretation is.  “What Makes it Great” is just the sort of music lesson I’ve been waiting for my whole life. 

 

I’m the type of person who is really moved by songs old and new, but most of the time I couldn’t even tell you why.   This series offers information I’ve been craving my whole life.  I would love to really understand music on this level.

 

listen to “Brother can you spare a dime” then 

“Over the Rainbow”

 

 

 

 
Author:

Maria Young Ace Certified Personal Fitness Trainer, Experienced Registered Yoga Teacher (500) Independent Contractor providing the following services: Office Management, Bookkeeping, Web Design, Marketing and Instruction in Yoga and Martial Arts for children and adults. Black Belt, 4 year program, LockBoxing. Maria studied under Erik Lee and won Grand Champion at the Kuk Sool Tri-State Tournament in 2006. Experience Certified Yoga Instructor: 700 hour level. At Piedmont Yoga, Maria’s main instructors were Richard Rosen, Rodney Yee, and Clare Finn. To them she is eternally grateful. Richard Rosen, founder Piedmont Yoga Studio & editor of Yoga Journal says: “Among the 30...students Maria was always among the more assiduous and adept.  If you’re thinking of adding Yoga instruction to your program, then I highly recommend Maria for the job.” College: CSULB: B.A. English Literature, UC Berkeley: M.A. Comparative Literature